Day 7 Black is beauty….

I realized this only after I started working. I was not so confident girl then…used to feel inferior…when I talk to someone I used to think that they are looking at my colour not me.

This stigma is carried by many Indian girls who are dark skinned. We Indians are so obsessed with the colour that by pointing the girl by her colour in fact damaging her self esteem and confidence.

You get to hear cat calls..”kali”,”blacky” etc..

If people want to refer a person they say that black girl..they are ways to recognize a person other than her colour.

The expectant mother is told to eat saffron and apples so that baby girl or boy will be fair. Science has proven it the baby gets the colour of her/his parents not by eating saffron or any other food.

Even at home the girl is called by names..I fail to understand why people want to name her by colour in spite of a given name.

Sometimes I never used to see my face in the mirror and used to cry. My mother used to say dark colour is gods colour and she used to give examples of gods who are dark.

During the play times too kids who are pissed off with you call you by your colour. They are just kids…they learn from their elders and from their surroundings.

Then come the teenage. Teenage is the age when you get those crushes. You hide your crushes because you are scared of rejections because of your colour. You try to find some creams or home remedies to change your colour not knowing that you can never do it.

Then come the marriage market. Your future mlaw is dark skinned, her son is dark skinned but she wants a very fair daughter in law so that she will get a fair skinned grand daughter.

And most of Indians doesn’t know that all Indian who live in west are dark skinned. Here only two types of skin colour, white and dark skinned. All Indians come under dark skinned, period…

19 thoughts on “Day 7 Black is beauty….

  1. You just hit the nail on the head Sari…
    I hate fair and lovely cream because of the bull shit it tells…
    Why can’t ppl accept others as they are? Why this color discrimination?
    Anyway…loved the punch line at the end 🙂

    1. Once I started working, I realized there are many people who don’t see your colour but they see you. I should thank my mom for making me see the world, giving me freedom to go out.

  2. Sari, the amount of time people mention colour in India! I was asked to eat apples when I was pregnant and I retorted that if apples guarantee ‘whiteness’ I can assure you I won’t touch it. Just as I refuse to buy any product that has ‘fairness’ associated with it. Your mum did a great job, and I’m sure so are you with your kids. Eventually, hopefully people will stop hankering after fairness

  3. It is sad that we as a country are obsessed with fairness. Why is it so difficult to accept people as they are. Wonder if education can change the mindsets? Have you seen Nandita Das’s ads on Dark is Beautiful?

  4. I have a mom who is very fair. I took after the father, and if that wasn’t enough, was a tomboy who was always in the sun 😛 Friends who met my mom for the first time would ask “Wow. How are you like this, then!?” But thanks to my parents, I grew up completely comfortable in my skin.
    And, then to see a majority of strong women still worrying about the colour of their skin – jeeez. This is where I have huge issues with our self-declared highgrounds of “culture”.

    Hugs to your mom for never giving into pressure…and to you as well!

    1. Even my mom was told to stop me working outdoors as my skin is getting darker and won’t get a good husband. It’s like husband wants colour not wife. Yeah even educated women fall for fairness solutions.

  5. Color discrimination is the worst there is!
    What matters is your heart…and Sari – you are beautiful.
    You and your mom are both awesome people for being so strong!

  6. Basing color of the skin for discrimination is the cruel extension of the belief “beauty is skin deep” by Indians.
    I totally agree with your mom’s POV and strive to teach similar values to my child so she doesn’t discriminate other children and people based on their skin tone.
    Loved the last line Saritha ❤

    1. We need moms like you who teach kids not to discriminate kids by colour of their skin. When kids learn at home p, they don’t forger and will pass on to other kids.

Leave a Reply

