My young friend and 5 years of blogging….

He is my new friend in Canada, know him since last one year. His age would be around 70 years,spends full day at the our building lobby. Sparingly dressed for the winter. In summer he is always out of the building and in the small plaza in front of my building.

When I tell him to go home and sleep with a thick comforter he says he is a Punjabi and he is very strong and doesn’t feel the cold (temp then was -20).He says i am not old, i am a strong Punjabi.

Once I met him at 10 at night I asked him had roti. He said he ate and he is walking in the lobby so that he doesn’t get a stomach.

I have my key to enter the building but he always opens for me, I got so used to seeing him every night that inspite of having a key I will knock the glass door to get his attention to open the door for me.

If i don’t see him for two days i miss him…usually Saturday’s and Sunday’s he is not seen.

Once I saw him carrying a plastic bag with food and plate,he sits in one corner in the lobby to have his food. I heard he uses the washroom in the plaza. He sits in the bus stops and people talk to him. I am not sure how he communicates with them cause other than punjabi he doesn’t speak any language, I use signs to communicate with him.

There is so much of male syndrome in our country which we carry to other countries too and old parents get such a treatment from their offsprings. I heard this old man goes home only after his son comes home. He is outside the house when son goes for work. I pray god he should have some mercy on this old man to take him to a home. Sometimes I feel like calling 911 but not sure what action they will take.

Once I met him outside the plaza on a warm day and told him to go home, he didn’t answer me but with tears in his eyes he blessed me by keeping his hand on my head.

Hope he gets a solution.

31/12/2013 i complete 5 years of blogging. I thank all my friends and my readers for making this possible….Blogging has taught me to think in a different angle and improved my reading and writing skills.Love you all…..

11 thoughts on “My young friend and 5 years of blogging….

  1. Congrats and hugs to you Sari on your 5 fab years of blogging…I love it as we became friends because of this blogging 😀

    Yeah uma and i cherish each moment of it….

    Feeling sad about that old man…feeling angry at such insensitive young people who are so selfish about their needs that they forget their parents !!

    The thing i feel is had he been in India atleast he would have been in a old age home.

  2. Congratulations Sari on completing 5 yrs of blogging!!

    Thanks pixie.

    Your friend sounds amazing and I really feel sad that his family can be so selfish…

    You are a beautiful person Sari! 🙂

    Thanks Sari

  3. That bit about your young friend made me sad. Hope his family would treat with more respect.

    Even when the temp is -24 i saw him out…i should appreciate his will against all odds…

    Congratulations on 5 years of blogging, Sari! Keep writing and keep sharing 🙂

    Loads of hugs!

    Thanks deeps hugs.

  4. Congratulations Akka on completing 5 years of blogging!! May 2014 bring you more happiness to you, your family and your friend as well 🙂

    Thanks sai and all the best for you too…

  5. I fail to understand how you can do this to your own parents..
    We are seriously lacking empathy here…I really wish this old man go back to Punjab soon..

    Even i thought so…maybe he is not in a position to buy ticket for himself.

    Congrats on completing 5 years.. 🙂

    Thanks Rashmi.

  6. Congrats on 5 years of blogging, Sari! And I’m glad to have met you through blogs 🙂

    Thanks Crafty..

    Pity about your friend, I too hope things look up for him soon.

    I hope that….

    Hugs, Happy New Year!

    Hugs happy new year.

  7. He is a inspiration. I hope he gets all that comfort he deserves at his age.

    Me too wish that.

    Congratulations to you on completing 5 years. Its a milestone to celebrate 🙂

    Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

