Summer is back….

I love summer mainly because i can get up late,no need for the kids to get up early and rush to school.During this summer holidays i can do my work leisurely no need to hurry up.Will be cooking much as i have to feed the two always hungry mouths with snacks and cool drinks…Has to see that my fridge is always full with the mangoes and Taati Munjalu (Toddy palm fruit).Brought taati munjalu yesterday and within no time they got over.Taati munjalu is popular summer fruit in Andhra.They are known as Tari in hindi,Nungu in tamil more details are here.

Waiting for relatives and friends to give raw mango pickle.That is the one thing which i have not tried nor will i try.So uma waiting for my parcel of pickle and i am sure you will make an awesome pickles and podis.

The thing i hate about summer is the water.Last year too i ranted about by water woes and the picture is same as last year.Every day morning i crib of not getting water as we are in the second floor.People on the ground floor hoard so much of water which if given to me will last for a week.How much i crib the situation won’t change.For this i am waiting for the summer to get over fast and we get rains here so that water level increases and i get enough water.

House is in a big mess and uma will vouch for it.She might have got a shock seeing my walls with full of art work by Pinkuda.I am just waiting for her to stop scribbling on the wall so that i will colour my walls with my choice of colours rather than plain white.

Leaving you all with a poem written by Varunavi…

“”Deep in my heart when ever you cry ,

I get cry first in my heart.

And then in my face,

Please don’t cry….””

13 thoughts on “Summer is back….

  1. I like nungu very much. I thought it was nungu in telugu also! It’s been some time since I ate this though. May is there anyway 🙂 Other than that, I like water melon, tender coconut, lime juice (and all other juices) during summer. I like mangoes but since it increases body heat, i avoid taking a lot. Nice poem, btw. I happened to read one story written by myself when I was in the sixth standard, and it turned out to be one of the worst stories I ever read! 🙂

    Destination Infinity

    1. This time munjulu is sold a lot here,on every road you can find people selling it,maybe they had a bumper crop this time…

      Because you read it know you didnt like it,maybe you mom liked it as it is written by a ten year old.

  2. save that pickle for me tooooooooooooooo please please please 🙂

    Sure will save some for you,waiting for relatives and friends to give me mango pickle,one parcel is on the way from vijaywada.

    send some summer this side we need it so much , it is cold

    Yeah we will swap UK weather with Hyderabad weather 😉

    God bless the little one , she is such a angel , lots of love to her..

    Thanks bikram.

  3. Nungu is such a superb fruit. Everyone likes it 🙂 🙂 Enjoy the summer holidays akka 🙂 Water problem is something we can’t rid if not planning properly 😦

    Yeah tamudu enjoying the holidays.There is only one solution for my water problem ie is monsoon…

    The poem is nice.. such a talent at such a young age 🙂

    Thanks i hope she writes more….

  4. Aww such a sweet poem by Varunavi!

    Thanks deeps

    Mango pickle..yummm, my favorite! Enjoy the summer break Sari, hope there is a solution to the water problem soon.

    There is no solution for my water problem,just waiting for the rain god to showers heavy rains here…

  5. It took me by surprise is – though you have great passion for cooking delicious food, you didn’t attempt pickles? I’d suggest its worth trying once, just like an experiment, am sure once you find your way you’d enjoy preparing varieties of pickles!!

    Yeah! the kids must be enjoying summer vacation, no more exams, no more homework from school!! Touching poem from Varunavi!! Hope her next poem is on smile 🙂

    Cheers,
    Charan 🙂

  6. Hugs to Vari.. such a sweetheart! the poem has so much meaning!

    I miss pickles too! And raw mangoes! 😦

Leave a Reply

