My Reminiscences

This tag was pending since long.Two lovely ladies Rashmi and Smitha tagged me to write 9 most cherished moments in my life.Here comes my list :-

  Elder sister marriage was the most cherished memory in my life. We planned so much and did the marriage in a grand way. We were like a team of 4 females and did every thing by ourself.We didn’t do shopping much because my mom had brought everything before, like jeweller etc….After the marriage when my sister was leaving to her in-laws house we all thought she will cry but to everyone surprise didn’t shed a single tear. She hugged all of us and with a huge smile on her face went and sat in the car.

 We build our house when I was in my 10th class. Every day evening used to there and water the walls. Used to have so much fun there talking with workers and my mom used to send tea to the workers. Each brick in that house has got wonderful memory. It was a dream come true for my mom. I miss my house and the beautiful garden.

 Everyday morning myself and mom used to get up early and mom used to make tea for both of us. We used to sit for atleast one hour talking. My neighbours used to ask us what will be there for you both everyday mornings to talk.

 I have a lovely friend. We both met in degree but not much of friendship developed between us but we both joined same college in MBA and we became best friends. She had a Luna and we both used to ride that. The best part was the Luna, the pillion rider seat is lower than the driver seat. I don’t know whether anyone laughed on seeing us riding but we both used to laugh so much everyday. And we both used to spend our pocket money on the petrol. Her name is also saritha.We both worked in the same bank till I got married and left the Hyderabad.

 We used to have a great friendship among the cousins, now not much as few of them are in US and few have become busy in there life. When we were small we all used to do so much of window shopping. There was a shop by name Khadi Bhandar and every birthday in my cousin’s house we used to buy small gifts from that shop and present it to my cousins.

 Had so much fun in the rains. Never used raincoat instead I used to cover my bag with the raincoat and get drenched in the rain. My house was little far from the school bus stop and roads used to be full with rain water. Myself and my sister used to go home playing in the rain. The shopkeepers on the road used to calls us in and used to tell us wait till the rain stops but we never listened to them. And evening my mom used to use the same road and those shop keepers used to tell my mom what we did.

 I worked part time in standard chartered credit card sales, the first salary i got was Rs.1000/- and I brought a shirt for my father,saree for my mother and gave Rs.100/- to each of my sisters and what ever was left I gave it to my granny. My granny was so happy that day. Still i remember the smile on my fathers face when he wore that shirt.This was in 90’s.

 Father used to drive Jawa and we could make out the sound that it is his vehicle. During holidays he used to come home in afternoon to check what we were doing. One day we made upma and that day my dad parked his vehicle very far from the house and came walking. He knocked the door and my sister saw him from the window and we threw everything in a bucket of water in the bathroom. He could smell the upma but we told him we were watching tv.

 My cousin who is 7 years elder to me likes Jayaprada.My granny never allowed her to go out except to school and college. She used to give me 25 paisa to get jayaprada’s postcard picture and each postcard was costing 10 paisa and I used to get 2 post cards and rest 5 paisa used to buy a Parle lozenges.This was in 80’s.

 Almost all whom i know have been tag and if anyone interested please do the tag and let me know 🙂

31 thoughts on “My Reminiscences

  1. ‘We were like a team of 4 females and did every thing by ourself.’ Wow! I can imagine how proud you all must have been! And your sister – so cute – no crying business 🙂 My aunt was like that – all smiles 🙂 – we still tease her 🙂

    My sis was emotional and everyone were thinking ways to calm her and she didnt cry at all 😦

    ‘Each brick in that house has got wonderful memory. It was a dream come true for my mom’ – I can imagine! Building one’s own house is one the biggest things in life! I can imagine how happy she must have been!

    She was very happy and we had a grand house warming ceremony.

    ‘We used to sit for atleast one hour talking. My neighbours used to ask us what will be there for you both everyday mornings to talk.’ I know! Me and my mom – we still talk almost everyday and we always have so much to talk about 🙂 Dad is always worrying about how much money I’m blowing up 🙂

    U know we both did the same thing when she was here 🙂

    Both you and your friend were Sarithas! Wow 🙂

    She is saritha.g and i am saritha.a

    And the rain story 🙂 All kids are alike ! We used to do the same and get a tongue lashing from mom for coming back all drenched 🙂

    My mom was working so we usually escaped by telling her that all the shelters were full

    ‘I worked part time in standard chartered credit card sales, the first salary i got was Rs.1000/- and I brought a shirt for my father,saree for my mother and gave Rs.100/- to each of my sisters and what ever was left I gave it to my granny. My granny was so happy that day.’ – I am sure it was a wonderful day for all of you 🙂 There is something about that first salary!

    Yes smitha i didnt buy anything for myself but i took Rs.1 from that sal and i still have that with me 🙂

    These such wonderful memories, Saritha! Loved reading them! Reminded me of a few of my own too 🙂

    Thanx smitha 🙂 🙂

  2. Nice. I liked what your elder sis did. LOL. I was just imagining the situation 😀 😀

    Maybe my jiju was also like u that’s why he took promise from my sis not to cry as he doesnt likes to see anyone crying 😀

  3. /*I worked part time in standard chartered credit card sales, the first salary i got was Rs.1000/- and I brought a shirt for my father,saree for my mother and gave Rs.100/- to each of my sisters and what ever was left I gave it to my granny. My granny was so happy that day. Still i remember the smile on my fathers face when he wore that shirt.This was in 90’s.*/

    🙂

    Wonderful Saritha 🙂 my first salary is 175 rupees for a single day work and I always rate it higher as I know how much I worked on that day 🙂

    Yes kanangu we always rate our first sal higher than how much ever we earn now 🙂

    /*We build our house when I was in my 10th class. Every day evening used to there and water the walls. Used to have so much fun there talking with workers and my mom used to send tea to the workers. Each brick in that house has got wonderful memory. It was a dream come true for my mom. I miss my house and the beautiful garden.*/

    Nice one… 🙂

    /*I have a lovely friend. We both met in degree but not much of friendship developed between us but we both joined same college in MBA and we became best friends. She had a Luna and we both used to ride that. The best part was the Luna, the pillion rider seat is lower than the driver seat. I don’t know whether anyone laughed on seeing us riding but we both used to laugh so much everyday. And we both used to spend our pocket money on the petrol. Her name is also saritha.We both worked in the same bank till I got married and left the Hyderabad.*/

    She was your friend you have mentioned previously right.. cool Saritha 🙂 Its always great to have such friends around us 🙂

    Yes kanagu u remember that 🙂

    Enjoyed reading this tag Saritha 🙂

    Thanku

  4. ha, lovely tag. i too remember the house we built. i was in 9th class when we had the housewarming and moved in. We laid the first stone during Dussehra and housewarming also 2 yrs later during Dussehra.

    U didnt invite me for the housewarming :(, i remember i called almost everyone for that and few came also 🙂

    In fact the mason/workers were so surprised that inspite of being Christians, we insisted on the housewarming being done during that auspicious period.

    That’s so sweet 🙂

    and ya, i too have great memories of the house being built.

    Liju u take up this tag,will love to read it. 🙂

  5. Those luna memories… !!

    oh…. it just reminded me of my days with a friend of mine… he had a Luna tfr and he would come and pick me up… we both would drive so fast… and go to Kabirwad, a island in the river narmada on it… it was so much fun… !!

    Wow island,great place to go and have fun 🙂

    Sadly that friend died of cancer… !! I had almost forgotten about it… you just reminded me of those days… !!

    Oh sorry to hear that dhiren

  6. that first salary reminder…. wonderful !!! really wonderful… again reminded me of things i had forgotten…

    I will never forgot those wonderful moments 🙂

    the collecting of post cards… !!! I remember A friend of mine was crazy about divya bharti in those days….

    Another cousin of mine used to collect mithun’s post cards 🙂

    wow …. !! so many things I had forgotten which you have just re-kindled… !!

    sorry couldnt comment yesterday as had to go… !

    Was about to mail,then saw this comment

  7. Very interesting list……i too was like your sister..the reason in ASSAM bride goes to groom’s place…some rituals are followed and goes back to her house to return after a day or so……giving tea to the workers …yup..i enjoyed it too…morning tea with mom,luna ride with frn….it was fun reading your list …and i am eagerly waiting for the next one…

    Thanx kavitha 🙂

  8. very sweet post sartha. I cried a lot but my sis is like your sis all our relatives thought that she cry s alot but she didn’t ahh i don’t know bulding a own house is a dream for every one naa nice post I enjoyed reading this.

  9. /*I worked part time in standard chartered credit card sales, the first salary i got was Rs.1000/- and I brought a shirt for my father,saree for my mother and gave Rs.100/- to each of my sisters and what ever was left I gave it to my granny. My granny was so happy that day. Still i remember the smile on my fathers face when he wore that shirt.This was in 90’s.*/

    You will never forget about your first salary Saritha and your parents too will never forget the gifts you gave them at that time.

    yes,my mom still has that saree and my dad shirt

    Rain dance…hmm…you remind me of my younger days!

    🙂

    I and my sister still talk for hours over the phone, most of the days. My husband and son wonder what these sisters have got to talk so much.

    Me and my elder sister talk so much,it is she who calls me very often 🙂

    My parents had an old house in our village, but we never had one of our own. But after marriage, we built this house and we were making tea for the workers and on the day of laying the ceiling, we got lunch from outside for them and I did a huge bucketful of paayasam (kheer) and gave them with my hands. They were so happy. This was a dream come true for both my husband and me.es

    Our house was my mom’s dream she built with house loan from her office and till her retirement she was paying the loan so my mom used to say the house is in the name of president of india and after retirement it will be on her name 🙂

    Felt great, reading your post, Saritha

    Thanx sandhya 🙂

  10. so many memories..
    chatting with moms…so many topics come up na..
    first salary is always special 🙂

    have been busy with work.. so couldnt comment earlier..

    Thanx mystery,was thinking of u 🙂

  11. We were like a team of 4 females and did every thing by ourself.
    ((((((hugs))))) loved the image that came to my mind 🙂
    yayy to woman power! 🙂

    🙂 🙂

    Each brick in that house has got wonderful memory. It was a dream come true for my mom. I miss my house and the beautiful garden.
    beautiful Saritha! Now I know why you miss your home so much and why your mom is a strong woman and why you keep talking about and admiring her

    Yes indyeah i miss my mom and my house,there are so many things associated to that house

    Everyday morning myself and mom used to get up early and mom used to make tea for both of us. We used to sit for atleast one hour talking.
    Saritha! this is EXACTLY me and mom too 🙂
    I LOVE this time when I simply sit and chat with her 🙂

    Hugs to indyeah,i love those moments

    two friends with the same name? 🙂 so cute 😀

    🙂

    I like Khadi bhandar too 🙂 they have some very natural and ayurvedic products 🙂

    yes the things they sell are handmade crafts

    And evening my mom used to use the same road and those shop keepers used to tell my mom what we did.

    Did you get a scolding? 😀

    No she never scolded us as we told her the shelter were full and we dont want to stand with the crowd there

    your first salary? and you brought something for everyone? 🙂 so sweet Saritha 🙂 and so very you 🙂

    we threw everything in a bucket of water in the bathroom. He could smell the upma but we told him we were watching tv.
    arre! Why? 😆

    you guys were too young to be in the kitchen? or did you get too scared? 😀

    We were scared and i was around 8 years and my elder sis was 10 years

    I cant imagine getting something for 25 paisa now 🙂

    Yes we hardly see 25 paise coin now and we dont get that parle lozengels

    this tag is sweet Saritha specially the part about how all of you took such interest in building your own home 🙂
    and the morning chats with Aunty 🙂

    (((hugs)))))))for Aunty 🙂

    you must be missing Aunty after writing this na?

    Yes indyeah i am missing my mom,called her today and she is telling us to come for a vacation

    She had a good vacation with you na? 🙂

    She had a good vacation and now she wants us to go and stay with her as varunavi is having summer holidays

    (((((((((((((((hugs)))))))))))))

    Thanx and hugs to u 🙂

  12. That’s some beautiful memories shared, Saritha. The bond of two sisters must be so strong. I always missed having a sister. I have a brother but you know whenever heard my mom talk about her sisters and the fun..I wanted one too. Of course I wanted one older, one younger sister and then one older brother. Ha..ha..ha..

    Thanx Solilo. I am close to both of my sisters where as they both r not close to each other.But i always wished for a elder bother 😦

    Of course I wanted one older,one younger sister and then one older brother-u missed twin sister/twin brother 😉

    Aaah! drenching in the rain. Bliss!

    Bliss for us till mom is back from office 😉

    1. Ha..ha..ha.. actually I wished for twin daughters. 😆

      Even i wished for twins when i was pregnant the first time,infact after the first scan my hubby said oh only one live foetus,he was expecting two 🙂

  13. Hi,
    You mentioned that your cousin used to collect Jaya Prada’s postcards. Do you know, by any chance, if she still has them? I collect old postcards myself and would love to buy them if any available.

    She is not having them with her now

Leave a Reply

